facebooklogoblack1 twitterlogoblack youtubelogoblack
Modulus Quartet

Modulus Quartet is a London based ensemble specialising in performing original string quartet repertoire written in close collaboration with a number of international composers. Drawing on its collective experience, the quartet seeks out music of an individual style, developing creative relationships with composers and artists. The quartet explores new ways of presenting music, performing in unusual venues and incorporating visual arts and multi-media technology.

Modulus released their debut album, 12 Seconds of Light, in 2017. The album features music by composers Terry Davies, Veera Lummi, Ash Madni, Richard Norris, Eliot Lloyd Short and Matthew Slater. Their first UK tour to promote the album took place in May 2017 and took in a variety of unusual locations including Honister Slate Mine in the Lake District and Carnglaze Cavern in Cornwall. Visuals were created by videographers Tom Brown and Diego Barraza. The tour was supported by Arts Council England and the quartet was featured on BBC Spotlight South West. The album will be released as a limited edition double vinyl in March 2018.

The quartet is currently working on material for their second album. This will feature new compositions by Eliot Lloyd Short, Veera Lummi, and Maria Muraru amongst others. They will be recording film scores by Ash Madni and Matthew Slater in early 2018. They will also be collaborating with the Charlie Pyne Jazz Quartet creating original compositions for octet. Their first major project will be new scores written for silent Surrealist films from the 1920s.

Jonathan Truscott

Craig Stratton

Mircea Belei

Nick Allen

Violin 1

Violin 2